Cleonice

October 11, 2009 at 12:12 am Leave a comment

Cleonice Lamb PitaMediterranean bistro indeed.  Tonita and I decided to finally step into the quaint establishment.  We were quite taken by the old world feel pushed into your every glance.

Unfortunately directly after entering the bistro from the main street we unhesitatingly took a turn for the negative.  We were indeed seated rather quickly leaving us with high hopes only to be struck with a sort of verisimilitude.  The first impression not being the truth.  We were not read the specials as we were informed would be the first words leaving our servers lips.  Not a big deal although it’s not as if an employee is going to stab your arm with a fork so you kind of have to base service off the little things.  Anyway onto the food for a moment. 

Pretending to be the gentle I of course allowed the female to order first and she happened to choose from the entre section on the lunch only menu.  Her taste buds went for the imported pasta with the house tomato basil sauce.  I on the other hand wanted something I could get my paws dirty with.  I directed my eyes north to the sandwich section of the lunch menu and chose the middle eastern spiced lamb cutlet on pita bread with feta and tzatziki .  Of course the drinks can’t be forgotten as mine was the mint green tea and the girl of course sticks to her shirly as always.

The imported pasta with the house tomato basil sauce.  Quite an appealing dish with some great aromas.  I was able to sneak a sample.  The sauce was actually quite palatable.  I of course was much more taken by the choice I had made.  When it was placed in front of me I was quite intrigued.  One of those meals where you sort of rub your hands together slightly and squint with evil.  What a delectable sandwich.  I had chosen the lamb to be medium-rare and the crisp romaine and the heavenly feta and tzatziki were the perfect adornments for the fresh pita.

Being full I didn’t plan to brave a dessert as filling as the sandwich.  Tonita decided to plant herself into the desire of the dishes passing around presenting some of the daily dessert specials.  Tiramisu it is.  Although pleasantly displayed I wasn’t taken by the run of the mill taste sensations that this so expectedly supplied.  I decided to stay away and just cap things off with an espresso.

 

After all said and done with the waits in service and lack of information we were pleased with the actual meals and left wanting with dessert and service.

Location – Main St Ellsworth, Maine

Check Please – affordable (about $38 in all)

Service – lousy

Food – pleasing (except the dessert ofc)

Entry filed under: Food Glorious Food!.

I’m here to stay! Smoky Black Bean Stew in Acorn Squash

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


GourmetGuy

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


