Smoky Black Bean Stew in Acorn Squash

October 14, 2009 at 10:22 pm Leave a comment

Smoky Black Bean Stew in Winter SquashOk ok so it’s fall again.  I suppose there isn’t much avoiding the bone chilling months to come.  Totally kidding I actually love this time of year and I thought last night the perfect time to peek around for a nice fall recipe that would be sure to please.  Boy did I hit the jackpot!

Ok so I was poking around and I eventually came across wait for it…….. yes the recipe for Smoky Black Bean Stew in Acorn Squash.  Bless the Bangor Metro for this post.  Now I’m not a vegan by any means but I just couldn’t pass up this warming display of fall goodness.

Of course I grow my own acorn squash along with everything else.  Apparently the recipe isn’t available anymore except in the publication itself so I am going to stretch your eyes out and list it so please be patient!

ingredients:

  • 2 cups black beans – soaked at least 8 hours
  • 1 – 12 oz bottle of dark ale *not porter/stout/lager*
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 14oz can fire roasted red peppers
  • 2 cloves garlic – finely chopped
  • 1 medium onion – your preference
  • 2 jalapeno – *seeds in or out for heat preference*
  • 3 acorn squashes – seeded/halved

Ok so those are the ingredients.  Now first of course you soak the beans overnight or for at least 8 hours prior to cooking.  To start things off you’ll want to take the red peppers,the vegetable broth and the jalapeno and bring these to a boil and simmer for 20 minutes.  Let cool slightly then puree in blender.  Then what you’ll want to do next is go ahead and take the garlic, onion, a little evoo and the spices and start getting them browned in a medium to large soup pot.  Once browned then add the tomato, jalapeno puree stir in.  Now add the beans and the dark ale and bring to a boil and let simmer slightly for about 2-3 hours or until desired bean tenderness.  Start squash 1 hour prior to estimated end cooking time of stew and simply scoop stew into squash and serve.

Ok I apologize for the length.  Although I had to have you guys try this because I loved it and it’s really a great recipe given you take the time to make it.  Trust me it really hits the spot on a cool fall evening.  I served to guests with a variety cheese platter which paired well with the meal.  Ok everyone have a great mid-week and I will hopefully be writing to you within a few days.  There is a new sushi bar that just opened with my name on it and I’m hip to a new french restaurant in brewer, decisions.

Entry filed under: Food Glorious Food!.

Cleonice 2009 Hates My Grapes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


GourmetGuy

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


